FANDOM



     Attention Spoiler : Cet article donne des informations importantes sur l'histoire du jeu.

Los Angeles Police Department
Agent
Capitan 1


Informations générales
PoliceBadge copia
Nom: James Donnelly
Grade Capitaine
Age {{{age}}}
Département Brigade criminelle
Commissariat Central de la police
Arme(s) Inconnues
Matricule nº: Inconnu
Statut Vivant
L.A.P.D.
Placa
Protéger et servir


James Donnelly est le capitaine de la police de Los Angeles et de la brigade criminelle dans le jeu L.A. Noire.

Biographie Modifier

James Donnelly est né en 1905 dans une famille irlandaise. En 1921, il a rejoint le LAPD à l'âge de 16 ans et est devenu capitaine où il doit traiter des affaires de la brigade criminelle et donne les affectations aux détectives concernant des meurtres et en fournissant des renseignements s'il est disponible.

Patrouille Modifier

Cole Phelps a d'abord rencontré le capitaine Donnelly après l'arrestation d'Edgar Kalou. Surpris qu'un simple officier de police puisse réussir à trouver un criminel avant les détectives de la brigade des homicides, James Donnelly permit à Cole Phelps de mener l'interrogatoire de Edgar Kalou. Après avoir extrait avec succès des aveux du suspect, le capitaine Donnelly applaudit Phelps, reconnaissant ses efforts pendant la guerre et son programme d'initiative. Peu de temps après, il demande la promotion de Phelps de policier à Detective, ce qui a entraîné sa promotion à la Brigade de la circulation.

Brigade criminelle Modifier

Donnelly presse

Rusty Galloway de dos et James Donnelly en présence des journalistes.

Cole Phelps devient le partenaire de Rusty Galloway en remplacement de Floyd Rose qui se retire de la police, Donnelly les envoie donc enquêter sur le meurtre de Celine Henry puis de Deidre Moller, d'Antonia Maldonado, de Theresa Taraldsen et d'Evelyn Summers. Bien que les affaires aient été clos avec succès, Donnelly et Phelps ont commencé à voir des similitudes entre les meurtres, et que tout se lié entre les différents meurtre et et celui du Dahlia Noir ou Black Dahlia qui est non résolu. Pour Donnelly et Rusty ses similitudes sont l'oeuvre d'un copycat, c'est-à-dire, d'un meurtrier s'inspirant d'une affaire passée. Impressionnés par leurs fortes convictions, Donnelly a salué Phelps et Galloway comme ses « meilleurs croisés ».

En utilisant les lettres comme indices, Phelps et Galloway se sont mis à trouver le véritable tueur, au cours de laquelle ils ont trouvé des preuves substantielles des meurtres précédents. Le sentier les a finalement menés à la Christ Crown of Thorns, où ils ont trouvé et tué Garrett Mason, le tueur en série dit le Loup-Garou, lors d'une fusillade. Donnelly est arrivée et a révélé que Mason était en fait le demi-frère d'un politicien très puissant et son nom ne doit pas être divulgué aux citoyens et dans les documents officiels. Cependant, Donnelly a promis que lui et le procureur du district, Donald Sandler veilleraient à ce que les suspects précédents soient remis en liberté. Avec la vérité tranquillement enterrée, Phelps fut promu à la Brigade des mœurs.

Brigade des mœurs Modifier

Alors que Phelps essayait de clore le dossier du vol de morphine, il a interrogé Courtney Sheldon et le docteur Harlan Fontaine. Le capitaine Donnelly et le chef de la police, William Worrell apparaissent et stoppent l'interrogatoire de Phelps, l'appelant au bureau de Worrell où ils ont révélé les accusations d'adultère contre lui avec Elsa Lichtmann. Donnelly a châtié sévèrement Phelps, exprimant le dégoût et la déception et même allant jusqu'à commenter que Phelps a brisé son cœur et en le questionnant en demandant comment il pouvait faire une telle chose à sa femme et ses enfants.

Brigade des incendies criminels Modifier

Après le décès de Phelps, Donnelly a assisté à son enterrement pour lui rendre hommage.

Personnalité Modifier

Donnelly point

Cole Phelps de dos se faisant sermoner par James Donnely.

Le capitaine Donnelly est l'officier chargé de la brigade criminelle. Le capitaine se montre résistant et sans faille jusqu'à pousser la demande d'aveux exige que ses équipes lui rapportent des résultats À cette fin, il s'appuie souvent sur des interrogatoires pour extraire des aveux plutôt que des preuves. Cela s'avère être sa chute, puisqu'il approuve les déclarations de culpabilité pour cinq suspects innocents.

Donnelly prétend être un homme profondément religieux et parle souvent dans un langage biblique poétique. Ce qui est clair, c'est qu'il utilise ses croyances pour cacher sa nature stricte sous prétexte de justice, et, par conséquent, il démonise et brutalise les suspects et les criminels condamnés. Cole Phelps, et avant lui Stefan Bekowsky, ont été promus au rang de détective par la recommandation de Donnelly.

Apparitions Modifier

Patrouille Modifier

Brigade criminelleModifier

Brigade des mœurs Modifier

Brigade des incendies criminels Modifier

Anecdotes Modifier

Capitan

James Donnely à la porte de la salle d'interrogatoire du Commissairiat de Wilshire.

  • Donnelly semble être inspiré de Dudley Smith de la série L.A. Quartet de James Ellroy. Smith était également le chef de la brigade criminelle et était irlandais. Les deux sont des grimpeurs politiques autonomes. Smith était également corrompu ; un trait qui est, dans une très petite mesure, également partagé avec Donnelly. Cependant, Smith est également clairement un méchant et le chef de nombreuses conspirations criminelles, alors que Donnelly semble plutôt intègre.
  • Un aspect inhabituel du personnage de Donnelly est son penchant pour parler avec des phrases poétiques. Ces parodies semblables sont, dans le cinéma et la télévision, semblabe à celle de policiers d'ascendance irlandaise parlant de la même manière.
  • Donnelly a montré qu'il n'est pas contre la violation de la loi, comme dans The Silk Stocking Murder après ses félicitations à Cole Phelps pour avoir clos l'affaire, il vole une caisse d'alcool du Just Picked Fruit Market.
  • En dépit de son grade supérieur, James Donnelly est plus jeune que Rusty Galloway.
  • Dans l'ouverture de The Studio Secretary Murder, on voit Donnelly occuper le bureau de Gordon Leary plutôt que le sien.
  • À la fin de l'affaire Manifest Destiny, il apparait au Commissariat d'Hollywood au lieu d'Archibald Colmyer.
  • Donnelly est un fumeur, comme on le voit dans The Silk Stocking Murder.

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

Wikia

L.A. Noire Wiki

James Donnelly

Talk4
969pages on
this wiki


James Donnelly
Capitan 1
Information
Gender Male
LAPD Rank Captain
LAPD Department Homicide
Location Los Angeles
Affiliation(s) LAPD
Cole Phelps
Rusty Galloway
Floyd Rose
William Worrell
Stefan Bekowsky
Status Alive
Birth May 25, 1905
Weapon(s) Unknown
Actor Andrew Connolly
"God's mill may grind slowly but it grinds finely, son!"
―James Donnelly

James Donnelly is a major character in L.A. Noire. He is Captain of the Homicide Department of the LAPD.

BiographyEdit

BackgroundEdit

James Donnelly was born in 1905 to an Irish family. In 1921, he joined the LAPD at the age of 16, and eventually became a Captain. As Captain, he presides over handling the affairs of the Homicide department and assigns detectives to various murder cases, occasionally providing background information if it is available.

Events of L.A. NoireEdit

PatrolEdit

Cole Phelps first met Cpt. Donnelly after his arrest of Edgar Kalou. Surprised that a simple Patrol officer had beaten his Homicide detectives at a murder investigation, Donnelly allowed Phelps to conduct the interrogation of Kalou. After successfully extracting a confession from Kalou, Donnelly applauded Phelps, acknowledging his efforts during the war and his show of initiative. Soon after, Donnelly requested Phelps' promotion to Detective, which resulted in his promotion to Traffic.

HomicideEdit

Partnering Phelps with Rusty Galloway and replacing retired Detective Floyd Rose, Donnelly sent the two to investigate Celine Henry's murder. Subsequent cases included the murders of Deidre Moller, Antonia Maldonado, Theresa Taraldsen and Evelyn Summers. Although the cases were successfully closed, Donnelly and Phelps began to see similarities between the murders, and how all linking to each other and to the unresolved Black Dahlia murder, though Donnelly and Rusty dismissed the similarities as acts of copycats. Impressed with their strong convictions, Donnelly praised Phelps and Galloway as his "finest crusaders".

After receiving a series of anonymous letters and retrieving Deidre Moller's rings, Donnelly and Phelps realized that they were being mocked by the Black Dahlia killer, who was ultimately responsible for the other murders. This meant that the department had arrested five innocent men, with four impending execution sentences. Donnelly warned Phelps and Galloway that their careers would be over and would have to take the blame for their wrongful convictions unless they caught the real culprit - a hypocritical statement, given that Donnelly had once pressured them for quick convictions and dismissed the Black Dahlia killer as a suspect.

Using the letters as clues, Phelps and Galloway set out to find the real killer, during which they found substantial evidence from the previous murders. The trail ultimately led them to the Christ Crown of Thorns where they found and killed Garrett Mason, the Werewolf serial killer, in a shootout. Donnelly arrived and revealed that Mason was in fact the half brother of a very powerful and undisclosed politician, hence Mason's name and acts were to be kept out of public knowledge and out of official records. However, Donnelly promised that he and the District Attorney would ensure that the previous suspects would be quietly released. With the truth quietly buried, Phelps was promoted to Vice.

ViceEdit

Later, as Phelps was trying to close the stolen morphine case, he questioned Courtney Sheldon and Dr. Harlan Fontaine. Donnelly and William Worrell appeared and interrupted Phelps' interview, summoning him to Worrell's office where they revealed the adultery charges against him for his affair with Elsa Lichtmann. Donnelly harshly chastised Phelps, expressing disgust and disappointment and even going so far to comment that Phelps broke his heart and questioning how he could do such a thing to his wife and children.

PersonalityEdit

Captain Donnelly is the feared and respected Officer-in-Charge of the Homicide desk. The tough and no-nonsense Captain has been known to push a bareknuckle enforcer’s demand for confessions and convictions, and is less concerned with playing by the book if it means getting the results he demands. To this end, he often relies on interrogation to extract confessions rather than evidence. This proves to be his downfall, as he approves convictions for five innocent suspects, and sheepishly passes the blame to his Detectives.

Donnelly professes to be a deeply religious man, and speaks frequently in poetic biblical language. But it is clear that this is a façade he uses to cloak his strict and sadistic nature under a pretense of righteousness, and as a result, he demonizes and brutalizes suspects and convicted felons. Careers are made and broken on Captain Donnelly’s word. Cole Phelps, and before him Stefan Bekowsky, were promoted to Detective through the recommendation of Donnelly.

Case AppearancesEdit

PatrolEdit

HomicideEdit

ViceEdit

TriviaEdit

  • Donnelly appears to be modeled after Dudley Smith from James Ellroy's "L.A. Quartet" series. Smith was also the head of Homicide and was Irish. Both are self-serving political climbers. Smith was also corrupt; a trait which is, to a very small extent, also shared with Donnelly. However Smith is also clearly a villain and head of many criminal conspiracies, were as Donnelly is duped into the one against Cole Phelps.
  • An unusual aspect of Donnelly's character is his penchant for speaking in poetic phrases. This spoofs similar characters in film and television (particularly cops of Irish ancestry) who speak in the same manner.
  • Donnelly has shown he is not against breaking the law, as in "The Silk Stocking Murder". After Donnelly congratulates Phelps on finishing the case, he steals a crate of liquor from the Just Picked Fruit Market.
  • In game subtitles have his surname misspelled as "Donnely", or "Donelly". This is first seen in "The Red Lipstick Murder" when Cole Phelps is on the phone with R&I.
  • In game subtitles during the case "The Silk Stocking Murder",  they also misspell his name as "Donelly". It is seen when Phelps and Galloway get a request to return to Central to see the new Dahlia letter and the first Shelley poem.
  • Despite being his superior officer, Donnelly is younger than Rusty Galloway.
  • In the opening of "The Studio Secretary Murder", Donnelly is seen occupying Gordon Leary's office, rather than his own office. 

GalleryEdit

Advertisement | Your ad here

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki